Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) Schedule for 2017-18 announced

Harmanpreet Kaur

The Women’s Big Bash League schedule for the third season has been announced with the women kick-starting it 10 days ahead of the men in the BBL. The WBBL schedule can be found at the end of this article

The Rebel Women’s Big Bash League, called so for sponsorship reasons, start off their 59 matches on December 9, 2017 with a Sydney derby. The Sydney Thunder take on their cross-town rivals Sixers in the opening game. Interestingly, the men too will have the same teams opening their season on December 19.

Read: Kia Super League Schedule & TV Fixtures

Cricket Australia’s General Manager for Events and Leagues, Anthony Everard explained how this season will see the introduction of new venues which should in-turn “encourage more people to give cricket a go”.

Although WBBL will still see their games being played away from major venues, there are some signs of encouragement for the women’s game as 22 matches will be double-headers with the men’s Big Bash League.

As for the WBBL broadcasting, the opening weekend will see four games being screened by Network Ten with a total of 12 matches being shown. The remaining 47 matches will be live streamed on Cricket Australia’s website.

Listen: How India dismantled Sri Lanka in the Galle Test

Hoping to cross last year’s attendance of over one million for WBBL and BBL, Everard says they “hope fans will continue to vote with their feet, support their club, and help us surpass last year’s attendance”.

Tickets go on sale from Monday, October 16, with prices unchanged from last year. Children $5, adults $20 and families $42.50. The tickets for the double-headers, i.e. for the days when both, men and women will be playing at the same venue, will be no different.

Here’s the WBBL schedule for the 2017-18 edition:

WBBL Schedule
WBBL Schedule (photo credit cricket.com.au)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.