Women’s World T20 Qualifier for 2018 Schedule, Venue & Details

Women's World T20 Qualifier

The next edition of the Women’s World T20 will be played in 2018 but before that is the important task of deciding which of the teams will qualify to feature in the competition. The Women’s World T20 Qualifier for 2018 is expected to be held late in 2017 or in the early part of 2018.

For the 2016 edition of the World T20, the top eight sides in the previous T20 World Cup had gotten themselves a direct entry into the main draw.

The remaining two spots were decided by a Qualifier that was held in Thailand in 2015. Ireland and Bangladesh had finished in the top two spots of that Qualifier to make it to the 2016 edition of the World T20 that was played in India.

For the 2018 edition of the World T20, something similar could be in the offing. The Qualifying tournament for the World T20 will be played after the three regional qualifying tournaments are played.

Read: Women’s Big Bash League Schedule Released

These three regional Qualifiers for the Women’s World T20 Qualifier are being played in 2017. PNG Lewas Women won the East Asia-Pacific Qualifier that was played in Japan, after they finished on the top of the table with 10 points and a better net run-rate than Samoa Women. Vanuatu and Japan were the other two teams in the competition.

The other regional tournaments will be the European/Americas Qualifier to be played between August 14-19 and the Africa Qualifier, which will be held between September 8-16. Scotland, Netherlands and the USA will participate in the European/Americas Qualifier while Namibia, Kenya, Zimbabwe, Uganda and Tanzania will be involved in the Africa Qualifier.

The winner of these three tournaments will join a few others in the main ICC World T20 Qualifier. The venue and the dates for that competition will be announced soon.

Read: Kia Super League Squads & Team-List

The 2018 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 will be played from November 2 to 25, 2018 and West Indies will be the host for the competition. West Indies had earlier hosted the tournament in 2010 as well.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.